Black Gold School Division


Introducing the 2021-2025 Board of Trustees

Posted on    Posted in BGSD, Board, Featured, Media Release, School Board Elections

2021-25 Trustee Montage
(L-R): Michelle Martin (Ward 1); Devonna Klaassen, Board Chair (Ward 2); Angie Charpentier (Ward 3); Gary Hansen (Ward 3); Barb Martinson (Ward 3),; Esther Eckert, Vice Chair (Ward 4); Robyn Steed (Ward 4).

The Black Gold School Division (BGSD) is delighted to introduce the Board of Trustees for the 2021-2025 term.

The newly-elected and returning members of the Board of Trustees were sworn in at a special ceremony on October 27 at the Division Office. Following the ceremony, the Board held its organizational meeting, where Trustee Devonna Klaassen was elected as Chair and Trustee Esther Eckert as Vice Chair.

“It is an absolute honour to be re-elected both as a trustee for Ward 2 and as board chair,” said Chair Klaassen. “As a parent of Black Gold students myself, I have a vested interest and I am profoundly passionate about supporting quality education, fostering the development of the whole child, and about providing and cultivating leadership. I am very much looking forward to working with this team, and continuing to support the Black Gold family as we all work to Inspire Success.”

“It is a privilege to pursue my love of education and bring my experience as an educator and a trustee to the Black Gold school communities of Ward 4,” said Vice Chair Eckert. “As I was in my first term, I am committed to supporting education with my time, talents, and as a champion for public education. Thank you for your confidence in me.”

“I am proud to be part of a public school division that is all inclusive where children learn and grow together,” said Trustee Barb Martinson, the longest-serving member on the Board. “Diversity is a strength that brings us all together to respect one another.”

“It is my honour and privilege to be re-elected to serve as a trustee in Ward 4,” said Trustee Robyn Steed. “I have learned a great deal over the past four years about the education system, and am very hopeful boards across the province will navigate the waters to ensure a proper outcome for the proposed curriculum. School boards have their work cut out for them, and I look forward to working alongside our new and returning board members in pursuit of Inspiring Success.”

The Division also welcomes three new trustees: Michelle Martin, who won by acclamation in Ward 1, and Angie Charpentier and Gary Hansen, who are representing Ward 3.

“As a parent of four children where our three older children have graduated and our youngest is in Grade 9, I understand the needs for our rural schools,” said Trustee Martin. “ I know how difficult it can be for programming options for smaller class sizes, and I will do my best to represent Ward 1 and put forth our interests and needs. Black Gold School Division wants to inspire success for each student.”

“I am passionate about creating an engaging learning environment that meets all children’s diverse learning needs and encouraging a child’s sense of belonging,” said Trustee Charpentier. “I am a working mother who currently has three children in the Black Gold School District; elementary, junior high, and high school. I understand the challenges of all learners and their diverse needs. I have been invested in the education system because my oldest child has diverse learning needs.”

“I am honoured to have been chosen by citizens as one of the Ward 3 Black Gold School Division trustees,” said Trustee Hansen. “There is much work to be done to continue providing high quality public education in our schools. I look forward to engaging with stakeholders to ensure our schools provide the best possible education to our students.”

“Administration is excited to work with the incoming Board to promote growth that leads to success for every student within the Black Gold school community, and to engage our educational partners to enhance public education and respect the diversity of our communities,” said Superintendent Bill Romanchuk.

The Division also thanked outgoing trustees Trustee Rebecca Eilander, Trustee Shawna Ofstie, and Trustee Sarah O’Gorman (who resigned in May 2021 for family reasons) for their exemplary service and dedication to K-12 public education.

The Board will hold its next regular public meeting at 10:30 a.m. on Wednesday , November 24, 2021.

Our Stories