Black Gold School Division


About Black Gold

Since 1995, the Black Gold School Division has been providing quality education within safe and caring environments in the communities of Beaumont, Calmar, Devon, Leduc, Leduc County, New Sarepta, Thorsby and Warburg.

Approximately 12,250 students, from Early Childhood Services (ECS) to Grade 12, are educated in the 31 schools within the system.  Approximately 660 teachers deliver quality instruction, with assistance from 630 support staff.

An extensive range of programs, including French Immersion, Band and Choral Music, Fine Arts, Outreach for Pregnant and Parenting Teens (OPPT), Off-Campus Education, Dual Credit courses, extensive Career and Technology Studies (CTS) and Career and Technology Foundation courses (CTF), are offered to students.  In addition, we started a new Virtual Learning Program this year, and are supporting approximately 1600 students in At-Home-Learning through Distance Learning due to the ongoing COVID-19 Pandemic.


Our Vision:

To Inspire Success.


Our Mission:

We provide the highest possible standard of educational opportunities for students within the Division through the use of available resources.

Our Values:

  • Student–Centred Learning
    Learning begins with, and is focused on, the student. In support of this, every member of the School Division engages in active learning, with the purpose of creating the best experience for our students and staff.  We work and learn in healthy school communities. We celebrate the light bulb moments with students and staff alike. We work hard and we have fun too.
  • Relationships
    We foster positive relationships based on respect and trust. We make meaningful connections with each other that strengthen over time. We don’t give up on students or each other. We are proud of the relationships that we build within our schools, within our communities and the world that we call home.
  • Safe, Supportive Environment
    We create an inclusive environment that values diversity and is supportive and safe for all. We value the health and wellness of every member of our school community and commit ourselves to sustain this in a welcoming and positive culture every day.
  • Passion
    We inspire our students to be engaged learners. We love what we do.  We go the extra mile to create memorable moments. We seek to light a spark of curiosity in our students and our colleagues to enable them to set goals and achieve their dreams.  We dedicate our time and creativity to help each other succeed along their journey in life.
  • Responsible Resource Management
    We honour and acknowledge that we are active and welcoming members of a larger community and share resources with them. We ensure that students and staff have the tools they need to succeed.  We manage our financial, capital and human resources responsibly. We have a reputation for being innovative and for applying technology wisely. We value each person who chooses to work with us and commit to helping them to develop their skills and talents. Time is a precious resource and we use it wisely.


BGSD Values and Priorities (downloadable/printable)